You have reached an AEAweb test server. If this is in error, please contact

AEJ Best Paper Awards

Each year, an article from each American Economic Journal is selected from nominated articles for the AEJ Best Paper Award. Nominations are open now.  The deadline for nominations is February 15, 2020. Winners are announced in April.

2019 AEJ Best Paper Winners
(L to R) Janet Yellen and 2019 recipients Danielle Li, Kyle Emerick (co-author Marshall Burke not present), Markus Poschke, Yinghua He and Jianye Yan (co-authors Antonio Miralles and Marek Pycia not present)

2019AEJ Best Paper Medals

Expertise versus Bias in Evaluation: Evidence from the NIH
Danielle Li
AEJ: Applied Economics, 9 (2)

Adaptation to Climate Change: Evidence from US Agriculture
Marshall Burke and Kyle Emerick
AEJ: Economic Policy, 8 (3)

The Firm Size Distribution across Countries and Skill-Biased Change in Entrepreneurial Technology
Markus Poschke
AEJ: Macroeconomics, 10 (3)

A Pseudo-Market Approach to Allocation with Priorities
Yinghua He, Antonio Miralles, Marek Pycia, and Jianye Yan
AEJ: Microeconomics, 10 (3)


The Persistent Effect of Temporary Affirmative Action
Conrad Miller
AEJ: Applied Economics, 9 (3)

Income, the Earned Income Tax Credit, and Infant Health
Hilary Hoynes, Doug Miller and David Simon
AEJ: Economic Policy, 7 (1)

Gender Gaps and the Rise of the Service Economy
L. Rachel Ngai and Barbara Petrongolo
AEJ: Macroeconomics, 9 (4)

Collective Self-Control
Alessandro Lizzeri and Leeat Yariv
AEJ: Microeconomics, 9 (3)

Barbara Petrongolo (L) and L. Rachel Ngai (center) receiving AEJ:Macro Best Paper Awards

David Simon and Hilary Hoynes receiving AEJ:Policy Best Paper Awards (not pictured: Doug Miller)

Conrad Miller receiving AEJ:Applied Best Paper Award

Alessandro Lizzeri receiving AEJ:Micro Best Paper Award (not pictured: Leeat Yariv)


  • Ruben Durante and Stefano DellaVigna, recipients of the 2017 AEJ: Applied Economics Best Paper Award (not pictured: Brian Knight and Eliana La Ferrara)

    Philippe Aghion and Julian Kolev, recipients of the 2017 AEJ: Economic Policy Best Paper Award (not pictured: Fiona Murray, Mathias Dewatripont, and Scott Stern)

    Martin S. Eichenbaum and Lawrence J. Christiano, recipients of the 2017 AEJ: Macroeconomics Best Paper Award (not pictured: Mathias Trabandt)



Enrico Moretti, recipient of the
2015 AEJ: Applied Economics Best Paper Award

François Gourio, recipient of the
2015 AEJ: Macroeconomics Best Paper Award

Kenneth Hendricks, recipient of the
2015 AEJ: Microeconomics Best Paper Award
(Alan Sorensen and Thomas Wiseman, not pictured)

Alan J. Auerbach and Yuriy Gorodnichenko,
recipients of the
2015 AEJ: Economic Policy Best Paper Award